Dining Services

Kashrut Policy

The Barrack Kashrut policy takes into account the school’s mission of pluralism as well the practical concerns individuals might have in order that food is a unifier and not a barrier to community-building. 

The kashrut policy focuses mainly on communal food and meals but also provides individual guidelines for recommended practice in Barrack and on school trips. Students may not share foods made in private homes in order to respect how each family maintains its own level of kashrut and to be aware of students' various food sensitivities and allergies. We also ask that all meat be certified kosher.

Daily Lunch Service

Daily lunch service is provided by Sapid Catering (Chef Oliver), under the supervision of the Community Kashrus of Greater Philadelphia, also known as Keystone-K. The menu features delicious and healthy meals including vegetarian and vegan selections in addition to "chef specials" such as pasta, tacos, and kosher deli. 

The salad bar is included and offers items such as fresh salad greens, beans, hard boiled eggs, various veggies, and dressings. On dairy days, the salad bar may include items such as shredded cheese, cottage cheese, or yogurt.

Features for students enrolled in the lunch program:

  • The cost of a hot meal and or salad bar includes a beverage and dessert.
    Students enrolled in the lunch program by trimester save approximately $1 per day!
  • Special Chinese and Pizza Days are included for those enrolled—no RSVP required.
  • On day trips, bagged lunches are provided for students enrolled in the Trimester Plan.
  • Sliced or whole fresh fruit and cookies are served for dessert.

For students not enrolled in the lunch program for the trimester, walk-in options are available. See the daily menu below.

Parents, enroll your children in the lunch program here.

Students entering dining hall

Lunch meals

Month, Week, or Day view selectors
December 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat/Sun
Mon, Nov 25
Tue, Nov 26
Wed, Nov 27
Thu, Nov 28
Fri, Nov 29
Sat, Nov 30
Sun, Dec 1
Mon, Dec 16
Tue, Dec 17
Wed, Dec 18
Thu, Dec 19
Fri, Dec 20
Sat, Dec 21
Sun, Dec 22
Mon, Dec 23
Tue, Dec 24
Wed, Dec 25
Thu, Dec 26
Fri, Dec 27
Sat, Dec 28
Sun, Dec 29
Mon, Dec 30
Tue, Dec 31
Wed, Jan 1
Thu, Jan 2
Fri, Jan 3
Sat, Jan 4
Sun, Jan 5

Meal Ingredients Key:
E = contains eggs
D = contains dairy
F = contains fish
W = contains wheat